Final round of Greetham Valley’s Winter Order of Merit

The final round of Greetham Valley’s 2011/2012 Winter Order of Merit was held on the Valley course which at the start of play was quite cold but after an hour or so the temperature drifted upwards towards the accepted norm for the month of twenty two degrees. On the day, Paul Jenkinson took his third win of the series with another fine performance,scoring thirty seven points and just edging out the very steady Graham Smith who came in with thirty six points. Fred Aspin took third place with thirty four points and for the second week running, Adrian Cunningham was edged out of the placings on count back.  

The overall Order of Merit had a final twist on the last day: three players from the top ten were missing from the final and this affected the overall prize table which saw the top eleven places receiving prize money. After the final round, the top of the table saw some last minute changes. Long time leader Bob Beverley finished in fifth place with 256 points, Fraser Denholm‘s final round wasn’t as good as his previous day’s when he won the Anniversary Trophy and he ended the series in fourth with 276.5 points. Dave Copley was pushed back from last week’s position of second to finish third on 278.2. Graham Smith’s very steady scoring throughout the series was rewarded when he managed to squeeze past Dave Copley to take second place, finishing with 294 points.

The eventual winner of the Winter Order of Merit was Adam Clegg with a massive 311 merit points. Adam scored consistently every week and the final day was no exception; he came home with thirty two points which included a birdie on the seventh and an eagle on the thirteenth. It also saw him picked for the Greetham Second Team after impressing Team Captain Alan Bennett.

Neil Harris won high praise for his impeccable organisation from all of the competitors and was presented with a copy of his own recently published follow up book in the Eric and the Red Shoes series. This was signed by everybody who had played in the series and presented by former Captain John Sparks.

With £565 in prize money the top eleven players were rewarded for their sterling efforts throughout the series. Notable success goes to Paul Jenkinson for a rapid climb up the table, finishing a credible 14th with only a handful of outings. Out of the forty four players who took part, thirty two received a handicap cut and shared in the weekly prizes. 

Elliott Clark finishing 6th just edging out the missing 2011 Order of Merit winner Martin Boughton and Steve Anderson into 7th and 8th place respectively. Neil Harris finished in 9th just ahead of the absent Steff Dutton in 10th with Carl Causbrook maintaining 11th spot beating the unlucky Paul Clegg by 6 points.