Greetham Valley Prize Presentation Evening

Prize presentation nightThe great and the good gathered for Greetham Valley’s end of year Prize Presentation Evening last Friday. First in the running order was the announcement that John Sparks will be the club’s new President from the first of January, he will take over from Martin Boughton who has served for six years. Fred Aspin was confirmed as 2014 Vice Captain and will take up his duties on the same day.

Trevor Smith Patricia Webster and Sheila DoutyTrevor Smith’s and Sheila Douty’s Captains’ Charity this year has been the Peterborough Neo Natal Ward and the fabulous sum of £2200 was raised throughout the year from Club members for the charity. Patricia Webster from the Ward was on hand to collect the cheque. Patricia said that they try not to handle very tiny babies, who are usually in a very delicate condition, too much. Some of them weigh in at less than a bag of sugar and a great deal of care from dedicated professionals is needed.
Colin Easson Motors prizes

These children may have been born prematurely or born with severe illness and even with a staff of forty five nurses plus doctors they are very reliant upon technology. The machines they use range in cost from around £500 to £7000 and obviously need replacing on a regular basis – every penny they can raise from outside sources really helps. Patricia thanked the Captains and the Club members for their generosity. Please note, If you would like to Colin Easson Motors competition prizewinnerscontribute to this vital work, contact the Communications Officer at Peterborough Hospital, they will be very happy to receive your donations which will only be used by the ward.

When the prize giving got underway, Ben Easson and Trevor SmithRoland Easson and his wife Debbie were on hand to present the trophies for the Colin Easson Motors competition. The Easson family, who sell Ford cars at their garage in Cottesmore, are Greetham Valley’s longest serving sponsors. Sophie Beardsall won the Ladies’ competition, she also won the Medal Winners’ Trophy. Adam Smith took the Men’s competition  prize and Jordan Burdall won the Under 21 section. Jordan, who also became the course record holder for both courses this year, won the President’s Putter for the best gross Jordan Burdall and Martin Boughtonscore in the two day 0-18 Club Championship to become Club Champion for the first time. Roland’s son Ben Easson, who came second in the Under 21 section, also picked up the Cunningham Cup for the best nett in the 0-18 Club Championship, and the Chris Southwell Memorial Salver.

For winning the Ladies’ Club Championship, Emma Tipping was awarded the Waycot Bowl; Emma also picked up two Medals after winning in July and August.Emma Tipping and Sheila Douty Another multiple winner was Ladies’ vice Captain Bev Dolman, she won the June Medal, the Pat Holloway Trophy and the Hodgkinson Cup for the Ladies’ Singles Knockout.

Iain Bain was presented with the Rutland Shield for his win in the division one Singles  competition, Paul Childe-Freeman won division two.

The Brian Hockey Trophy was presented to Jack Vernal for his win in the Seniors’
Jack Vernal Trevor Smith Rod WellsSingles,
division one and Denis Watts picked up the Mike Churchill Trophy for division two.

Bryony Batch, who has played in fourteen qualifiers this year, was awarded the Rosemary Thomas Cup for the most improved Lady Golfer after coming down from 33 to 30 handicap, she also won the Lady Landover Trophy.

Mike Churchill Trevor Smith and Denis Watts
The Stuart Dodd Trophy for the most improved Senior Golfer went to Peter Wood who came down from 20 to 15 this year. Paul Downs won both the Easson Cup for the 19-28 nett Championship and the Hinch Cup for the gross Championship.



Other prize winners:

The Begy Trophy, Gents Pairs Knockout:    Ray Gladwinfield and Mark Hibbitt
Ladies Medal Winners Trophy:    Sophie Beardsall
Anniversary Trophy:    Steve Bennoson (Gents), and Pat Jamieson (Ladies)
Rabbits Trophy:    Dave Smith
Tudor Springs Foursomes:    Bob Beverly and Neil Harris
Bob Ford Past Captains’ Cup:    George Grant
Barbara Ford Past Captains’ Trophy:    Eve Mills
Moore Stephens Trophy:    Robert Lewin (Gents), Jackie Friend (Ladies)
Limestone Trophy:    Nick Cunnington
Ladies’ Greensomes:    Liz Haughton and Fay Taylor
Sturgess Volvo Trophy:    Andrew Frisby
Senior Golfer of the Year:    Rob Gray
Ladies’ Bunny Cup:    Hazel Hinch
Meadows World Travel Trophy:    Jacky Bayley
Greetham Cup, Ladies’ Doubles:    Sophie Beardsall and Sally Bowker
Seniors’ Doubles:    Rod Wells and Robert Birch
Dickinson Trophy, Mixed Doubles:   Trevor Smith and Sheila Douty
Dryden Salver (best 36 holes nett):    Sheila Douty
Gill Christie Memorial Trophy:    Angela Wheeler
Martins Mixed Foursomes:    Ryan Tarrant and Jackie Friend
Stimson Family Cup:    Roger Bass and Andrew Bass

2013 Captains Trevor and Sheila thanked the members for their support during the year and paid special thanks to Dennis and Joan Millington and the Hinch family for all their help this year. They also wished Shaun Denholm and Bev Dolman, who take over as Captains in January, all the best for 2014.

Steve Anderson, who won the 2012/13 Winter Order of Merit last year, took his first win in this year’s series with a fantastic 39. Kevin Hingle and Jim Wheeler took the second and third places, just two shots behind on countback. Six players, Fred Aspin, Ian Copley, Neil Crees, Paul Jenkinson, Peter Bagshaw and Trevor Smith were a shot further back and they shared the Order of Merit points. Adrian Cunningham still occupies top position on the overall table but his lead has been reduced to 15 points. Defending champion Steve Anderson surged up the table to take over second place. Fred Aspin moved up from fourth to third and Kevin Hingle leaps up ten places into fourth place, Chris Wheatland dropped from second to fifth. With it all still wide open and all to play for, the next round will take place on Sunday 24th, when players are expecting much colder conditions.

Don’t forget the Members’ Forums next week, 2.30pm on Wednesday 27th and 7pm on Thursday 28th. Wine and nibbles will be provided. Hope to see you there!