Greetham Valley Prize Presentation Night 2012

The great and the good gathered at Greetham Valley for the end of year Prize Presentation Night. First thing on the agenda was to hand over a cheque to the Evergreen Care Trust who have been this year’s Captains’ Charity. 2012 Club Captains Jim Wheeler and Eileen Pare said that they were proud of the efforts of the membership, who had raised £2354 for the trust. Suzi Wheatley representing Evergreen said that this would go a long way to helping some of the over five hundred people a week that they support in the Stamford and Bourne area. Suzi went on to say that they totally rely upon gestures like this as they get no lottery or government funding.

Colin Easson Motors have been sponsoring a competition since the inception of Greetham Valley; Roly Easson said that his family and staff  look forward to their competition day at Greetham Valley every year. This year Susan Ker won for the Ladies, James Horwood took the Men’s prize and Jordan Burdall won the junior competition in his last year as a junior.  James Ablett who started playing a year ago was also a multiple winner, he won the Rabbits Trophy, the Colin Easson Cup for the best net score in the 19 to 28 Club Championship and the Hinch Cup for the best gross. He is looking forward to getting his handicap cut to eighteen so that he can play in the 0-18 Club Championship.    

Sue Ker who has only been playing for three years also won the Ladies’ Medal Winners Trophy. Sue has had a fantastic year, dropping four shots off her handicap, winning the previously mentioned Colin Easson Motors competitionas well as a medal and the Dryden Salver. She also represented the club in the County Jubilee Trophy.




As well as the win in the Colin Easson Motors competition, Jordan Burdall also won Herridge Cup and the Clark Shield for the best gross and net in the Junior Club Championship. Jordan was also named as the Junior Golfer of the Year. This is presented to the Junior for not only a great performance throughout the year but for their general demeanour, cheerfulness, co-operation and respect for fellow members. Jordan started the year off with a handicap of two and now plays off scratch.   

Going from one end of the spectrum to the other, Neil Harris won the Seniors’ Golfer of the Year trophy as well as the Seniors’ Doubles with Bob King; Neil also won a medal.


Fraser Denholm had a large drop in handicap from thirteen to six, Fraser won the Gents’ Anniversary Trophy. Christine Edwards won  the Ladies Anniversary Trophy. 



Cathy Steele, who only took up the game seriously in April, won the Rosemary Thomas Cup which is presented to the most improved Lady Golfer. Cathy also won two medals, the Ladies’ Invitation and has dropped six shots off her handicap.



Senior club member Peter Giblett saw his handicap drop from thirteen to ten and was awarded the Stuart Dodd Trophy for the most improved golfer of the year. Peter also won the Stan Holden Trophy, the Veterans’ Cup and two medals.

County players Emma Tipping and Sophie Beardsall were big winners again this year. Emma won the Pat Holloway Trophy, a medal and the Hodgkinson Cup for the Ladies Knockout Singles and was third in the Colin Easson Motors competition. Sophie was crowned Ladies’ Champion for the eighth year in succession and won the Waycot Bowl. She also won three medals and with considerable help from partner Sally Bowker, won the Greetham Cup for the Ladies’ Doubles. Both Emma and Sophie represented the County and the Greetham Scratch team with great success this year.

Alan Bennet and Christine Edwards won the Martins Mixed Foursomes early in the year, Alan with Adam Clegg was also successful in the Men’sTudor Springs Foursomes, Adam also took home a medal. Not to be outdone Adam’s father Paul Clegg won the division one singles and was presented with the Rutland Shield, Bill Skinner won division two.  

In the Seniors Singles, John Taylor won the Brian Hockey Trophy for division one, Peter Morris won division two and the Mike Churchill Trophy.

The Club Winter League starts in just a few day’s time and the 2011/2012 winners Iain Bain and Dave Morgan will be trying to get off to a good start. The Stimson Trophy is for family members only, Gary and Steven Graham were this year’s winners.

Prizes were presented to winners of individual competitions such as the Gill Christie Memorial Trophy which was won by Beryl Crosland, Beryl also won a medal. Trevor Smith won the Cunningham Cup for the best net score in the Club Championship as well as the President’s Putter for winning the championship. Ladies Vice Captain Sheila Douty won the Lady Landover Trophy and a medal. Shaun Greetham won the Moore Stephens Trophy in the Men’s competition and Angela Wheeler won it for the Ladies. The Limestone Trophy was presented to Andrew Queen. 

Mr Bob and Mrs Barbara Ford, both former Club Captains, sponsor the Former Captains’ competitions; Greetham Valley Secretary Dennis Millington won the Bob Ford and Jackie Friend the Barbara Ford Trophy. The Chris Southwell Memorial Salver was awarded to Graham Smith and  James Cure won the Sturgess Volvo Trophy. Jo Morris hasn’t been playing for very long but she was still good enough to win the Ladies’ Bunny Cup and to take the longest drive in the Colin Easson Motors competition. Eve Mills won the Meadows World Travel Charity Trophy and Geoff Williams the President’s charity Day Trophy.

In Doubles competitions, Lincolnshire Ladies’ Secretary Bev Dolman and partner Jackie Bayley won the Ladies’ Limestone Trophy. The Dickinson Mixed Trophy was won by Juniors’ Captain Ryan Tarrant and Jackie Friend. Leon Wych and Gary Ferrar were the winners of the Pairs Knockout and were presented with the Begy Trophy.

Other winners were: 
Gents Medals: Matt Williams, Steve Lesiakowski, Carl Causbrook and Robin Bell.

Ladies Medals: Leslie Young, Gilly Grant and Rita Knapp.

Seniors Medals: David Aldred (twice), Derek Palmer, Colin Avery, John Dowding, Dennis Cleggett, Dick Thirlwell, Alan Hodgkinson, Les Dickinson and Trevor Davis.  

The Ladies Scratch Team captained by Gilly Grant were congratulated on winning the scratch league for the second year in succession.   

A great prize presentation night was had by all and Captains Jim Wheeler and Eileen Pare paid tribute to the hard work of Dennis Millington who was helped on the night by President Martin Boughton and Wayne Terrett. A great round of applause was also given for the hard working Greetham Valley green staff led by course manager Adi Porter, without whom none of these competitions would be able to be played at the level they are.  

Well done to all.