Juniors and Seniors golf at Greetham Valley

The Clark Chapman Trophy is an annual competition played for by Greetham Valley and Burghley Park Juniors; the format is matchplay and the teams play home and away. Greetham have won the Trophy for the past three years and set out their stall to try for a record breaking fourth. The first of the two matches was at Greetham Valley and was off white tees on the Valley course. The home team was at a slight disadvantage as they had only seven team members against Burghley’s eight, this meant that Junior Captain Ryan Tarrant played on his own against Joe Carr and Dean Vaughan. Ryan managed to win one up with a very mature Captain’s performance.

In the second match Freddie Turner and Frazer McCombie beat Adam Vaughan and Sanjay Niithigalingam four and two. Will Chamberlain and Cameron Hornsby beat Matt Lem and his partner two and one.

Alex Ashwin and debutant Bobbie Elsigood lost to the very good pairing of Joe Regis and Jordan Mayman by four and three.

Junior Organiser Pat Jones said that she was very proud of her team which is looking forward to the return match at Burghley Park. 

After a harsh overnight frost and a cold changeable wind, the Lakes course was a very cold place to be in Rutland this Monday morning when eighty plus Seniors took to the fairways to compete for the April monthly medal. The bitter weather didn’t seem to affect the winner in division one, Neil Lowndes. He shot a brilliant seventy seven gross, net sixty eight to take the win and the lowest gross and was rewarded with a cut to eight. John Dowding was second on count back with a gross eighty seven, net seventy and was cut to sixteen. Barry Shaw took third place with a gross 84, he was cut to thirteen.

Dick Thirlwell won division two, the lowest gross for the division and the overall medal with a score of ninety two gross, net sixty seven. This was in spite of coming off the par five fifteenth with a nine and then repeating the “feat” on the sixteenth; Dick was cut to twenty two. Peter Morris took second place on count back from Dennis Cleggett both scoring a net seventy three.