Sam Ewing elected as 2013 Juniors’ Captain

Ryan Tarrant has had a good year as Juniors’ Captain. In April he led Greetham Valley to a stunning three to one victory against Burghley Park in the annual Clark Chapman Trophy at Greetham; this was especially good as he had to play against the Burghley pairing of Joe Carr and Dean Vaughan on his own. Ryan also took his team to the South Lincs County final at Boston Golf Club; they didn’t win but, in the words of Junior Organiser Pat Jones, “they did the club proud”.

Ryan will be handing over to twelve handicapper Sam Ewing in January. Sam said that he is looking forward to the challenge and also to working with Pat Jones and Jim Hetherington to promote golf to a broader audience of young people. On a personal note he will be trying to get down to single figures. Sam is pictured with 2013 Captains elect, Trevor Smith and Sheila Douty. 

Week eight of the Winter Order of Merit saw yet another new winner, Club Treasurer and former Club Captain Neil Crees had a fantastic round to win with forty two points. The rain had stopped by the time the first pair went out, the sun even shone and although it was wet underfoot at times, the course held up very well. Neil, off seven, said that he found the conditions really suited his game which included three birdies on the back nine. He didn’t have it all his own way though: Ian Copley playing off twelve also came home with forty two points, unfortunately this also included a blob. Neil scored twenty three points on the back nine which beat Ian’s twenty one, thereby relegating him into second place on count back. Neil had two shots docked from his handicap and Ian had one shot taken off. The competition is wide open and Ian is the only player to have featured in the top three twice this year. Carl Causbrook was third with thirty six points and was docked point five. 

Dave Copley still leads overall with one hundred and twenty six points, big brother Ian has moved up from sixteenth to second, he has a hundred and two points. Graham Smith and last year’s winner Adam Clegg also moved into the top five, Graham has ninety four points and Adam ninety two. George Brand didn’t have such a good week and was pushed from second place down to fifth, however he is only a couple of points behind Adam.  

The Seniors held their end of season meeting to elect the officials for the next year. Before becoming Seniors’ Captain, officials spend a year as Treasurer and one as Vice Captain, this has changed for the first time ever as Barry Tillotson asked to remain as Treasurer. Radley Wardhaugh was elected to the post of Vice Captain. Having completed his first two roles successfully, Rod Wells will be the Captain for 2013 and Mike Churchill stays on as Secretary.  

Before the meeting, a three club competition for the Hodgkinson Trophy took place; players must use a putter but can choose any two other clubs in their bag. In the past, anything from thirty nine to forty two points has won it, this year it was won by Peter Wood with thirty eight. Three people with thirty five points had to be separated on count back. Second place went to Stuart Dodd, John Morfee was third and David Aldred was pushed back into fourth place.